Leading Companies Recognized For Manufacturing Excellence

LED announces 2011 Lantern Award winners

BATON ROUGE, La. -- Louisiana Economic Development will honor the 2011 Lantern Award winners tonight in a private reception held at the Governor's Mansion. Lantern Award winners are honored for their excellence in manufacturing and community involvement.

"I want to commend the Lantern Award recipients for their achievements and contributions, which are helping Louisiana's economy outperform the South and the U.S. on a regular basis," said LED Secretary Stephen Moret. "As we continue to reposition Louisiana as one of the best states for business investment, supporting the growth of our existing businesses will remain our top priority."

Lantern Award winners are selected by Regional Planning and Development Districts in Louisiana based on the businesses' contributions to their local communities, including employment growth and facility expansion. Each business must also demonstrate sustainability by remaining in operation at least three years prior to the nomination.

The 2011 Louisiana Lantern Award winners are:

Acadiana Region
Maritime International

Bayou Region
Bollinger Shipyards Lockport LLC

Capital Region
Triton Industries LLC

Central Region
Six C Fabrication Inc.

Northeast Region
ConAgra Foods Lamb Weston

Northwest Region
Southland Printing Co. Inc.

Southeast Region
St. Joe Brick Works
Pearl River

Southwest Region
Max Brake™ Brake Controllers

As part of the award ceremony, the Louisiana Quality Foundation will recognize its Louisiana Performance Excellence Award winners: Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center, Lafayette; St. Francis Medical Center, Monroe; Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, Baton Rouge; and St. Elizabeth Hospital, Gonzales.

Since LED launched the Lantern Awards in 1979, the program has recognized more than 260 Louisiana manufacturing businesses. LED's program partners include the Louisiana Industrial Development Executives Association and Louisiana Quality Foundation.

Award winners receive lanterns handcrafted and donated by Bevolo Gas and Electric Lights in New Orleans. The lanterns have been a trademark of New Orleans since 1945, and Bevolo is the oldest and largest copper gas lantern manufacturer in the U.S. and the second-oldest in the world.